Pick Up Games in the Living Room

So I finally sat down inspired to complete the next chapter of my novel, when Aiman came up to me and showed me a round black lid to an empty vitamin bottle. You know, one of those 500 horse-tablet containers.  He had a shit-eating grin and the tile scrubber with the stick thrown over his shoulder. “Can I play with this lid?” he asked.

“Sure,” I answered absently and went back to my chapter. I heard the noise levels rising from the living room.
I shut it down with a “QUIET” shouted over my shoulder.

Five minutes and a lot of laughing later, Samiya walked up and asked me, “Mom, do they get in trouble for hitting with the hockey sticks while playing?”  I told her that I suppose it depends on where they’re hitting and how.  “I’m sure hooking someone in the face with a stick and the puck is at the other end of the ice would probably end up with at least a penalty box or a good pounding for the offender. Now hand me that dictionary on the table because I can’t remember if ‘imminent’ has two i’s in it.” I got my dictionary and then the light bulb came on.

“ARE YOU GUYS PLAYING HOCKEY IN THE LIVING ROOM?”

“Yes, ma’am,” was sung back by 4 of the 5 kids in a chorus.

I shook my head, realizing that if I broke up the game now, the whining about whose turn it is to use the computer would start and I wasn’t done with my chapter still.

“NO BODY CHECKS ABOVE THE KNEES BECAUSE YOU MAY MISS AND BREAK THE T.V.”

Who says I’m not up for MOTY award?

3 thoughts on “Pick Up Games in the Living Room

Leave a Reply

