No Wheels

So much for commitment to writing, huh? I swore I was going to do NaNoWriMo this year and now seven days into November, I haven’t even OPENED my novel files. Pfffft. Haven’t even written a blog post in nearly a month. What gives?

I’m depressed. Not like black-hole-can’t-get-out-of-bed depressed….just can’t focus after about 1 p.m. to the point that I don’t even feel like cooking dinner anymore. And I’m a big time foodie. I had surgery on my foot last month and I guess being stuck in the house unable to do much is just wearing me down. The operation was on my right foot, so I can’t drive at all and it totally sucks to be at the mercy of someone else’s schedule.

I need to go to the doctor? My husband drives me there (as slowly as possible….toddlers on the sidewalk have passed our car when he’s behind the wheel.) I need to buy groceries? My husband takes me and then proceeds after only the third aisle to ask me, “Are you done yet? That’s it, right? Can we go home?” Last time I needed groceries (we only had parsley and a half empty bottle of pickle relish,) I told him to drop me and one of the girls off at the supermarket and we’d call him when we were in line to pay. He let out a big sigh, and in a voice filled with downtrodden guilt said, “I’ll come in and help you.”

My daughter and I looked at each other. “Don’t do me any favors. Go home. Watch your Bob Vila videos online. Sam and I have got this. We don’t need your help. We’re faster on our own.” He looked sort of hurt and elated at once. Finally, he dumped us off and left. It was awesome. Sam and I were zooming through the aisles, discussing which size is actually the better buy and if I had remembered to download the electronic coupons to my shopping card. For a 15 year old, she is a whiz at grocery shopping and with minimal eye rolling. We called him just as we got into the checkout line. It was fabulous.

The only good thing that’s come of this is that I’m spending less money. Obviously, I’m not using much in the way of gas but I’m also not cooking very interesting meals being forced to use “what’s there.” I can’t wait until I get the green light to drive again. I miss doing my volunteer work at the school and going to the library and visiting my sister. But in the mean time, it’s canned fava beans and cheese and eggs and olives for dinner tonight. Be jealous.

Leave a Reply

