He Loves Me

I have a temper. I’m not sure if it’s part of my Irish make up or if it’s the red hair or if it’s
learned behavior from my kids…..Oh, yes. I am TOTALLY blaming them.

About 8 months ago, I was holding said temper at bay and had been holding it for several
hours and about 14 different fights between various teenagers. When the noise level began
to quiet a bit and my guard let down and my nerves began to calm and I could no longer
hear the blood pumping through my own ears, I started to relax. My mistake.

The shriek from the living room that came out of my daughter because my son was teasing
her YET AGAIN was the straw that broke my camel’s back. I grabbed the first thing that I
could reach and chucked it across the kitchen at the wall. As my favorite coffee mug
shattered before me in slow motion and the distorted word “NOOOOOOOOOO!” came
dragging from my lips, the house fell under one of those eerie silences and my son ran out
into the backyard and started to cut the grass so that he could dodge responsibility of
having to replace my mug. My daughter swept up the remains of the cup and I went and
cried because I’d not had enough caffeine in the first place.

Since that time, we’ve been on the lookout for a new favorite mug for me. I’ve been using
one that we inherited from someone who swiped it out of the break room when he was
working under contract at Nokia. (Don’t worry, David. I won’t tell them it was you.) It’s a
pretty color and a perfect weight. But my husband felt that it wasn’t the right fit for me.
(Strangely, I don’t see that he’s concerned that no semi-precious stone jewelry is not a
right fit for me. Really, honey. A lovely sapphire or opal would be a PERFECT fit for me,
coffee mug be damned.)
mug nokia
So the first mug my husband bought me was this one…which is similar in color to the original
mug that I threw but it’s heavy empty so when I add coffee to it, it is difficult to drink without
using two hands.
mug deer creek

The second mug he bought me, while kitschy and cute, is really not my style at all hard to
drink from. It also does not fit on a coaster. Truth be told, it’s a dribble glass shaped like a
hat.
mug cowboy

Then last night he brought home another heavy mug. BUT it’s so cool and now that my
tennis elbow has seemingly disappeared, I can drink coffee one-handed again. Wanna know
why I love it so much? Three reasons.
mug stormtrooper

1. Star Wars, duh.  Stormtroopers are the coolest. So there.
2. It’s so honkin’ big that it’s like drinking TWO CUPS OF COFFEE AT THE SAME TIME!
and most importantly,
3. My husband loves me so much that he continued to look for the perfect mug for me for
the last 8 months. If that’s not love, I don’t know what is. ❤

Leave a Reply

