The Best Laid Plans…

So, when I started this whole “Walking 1000 Miles” thing and I’d planned to get up early, walk my 2-3 miles and then shower and write daily, I had no idea that I’d end up down for the count  with bronchitis for a week and also that we’d be suffering through a 104+ degree heatwave for 2-3 weeks straight. Still I managed to get some of the walking and a lot of the showering done. The writing? Not so much.

But now that the 4 teenagers are all completely registered and in school and the 20-yr old is completely registered and has some of his books and has started his classes, I am able to at least attempt to walk and shower and write daily. We’ll see how it goes.

In an effort to save money, I sat down and wrote out a menu from the 15th of August through the 15th of September. I scoured sales ad papers, clipped coupons, and arranged my shopping trips according to the furthest store on the map and made my way back to the house, hitting each one along the way and testing the full capacity of trunk space in my 1998 Chevrolet Metro. Who knew that you could stuff so many bags into the back of one of the world’s smallest cars if you just remember to pull all of the usual crap out of the car before putting the back seat down? I hit 4 different grocers hard and made it home within 3.5 hours with just over $200 spent and so many bags that the kitchen floor was barely visible.

Of course, school didn’t start for another 9 days after this grocery shopping trip, so 2/3 of that food was gone by the time the teenagers boarded their school buses on the 24th. *sigh* And while I still have a large amount of the staples in my cupboards, alas! The supply of meats, poultry, and produce are sorely lacking again on the 31st. So no matter how much effort I put into savings, coupons, research and shopping smart (and not hungry,) I’m still out of food in 15-16 days. AUGH! Whatever. One day I’ll figure it out.

But in the mean time, I’m getting healthy due to the walking, keeping friends due to the showering, and keeping my kids fed whether we want to or not. It is what it is, folks. Not really completing the planned tasks, but definitely attempting to do so.

Also, this may be the single most boring post I’ve ever written.

Leave a Reply

