Girl Power…As Seen by a Boy

Last night, as I was sitting in the bleachers watching my younger daughter play softball, I overheard my son’s friend, Isaiah, mention to him and another friend, Gilberto, how much he admired the pitchers who play girls fast-pitch softball. I asked him why and he stated simply, “It’s harder to pitch like that than it is in baseball. To wind up backwards and fire that ball as fast and as hard as they do with accuracy is crazy hard. I pitch baseball and have a hard enough time controlling the ball overhand. But to throw it underhand like that with a spin on the ball and keep control? That’s way hard and so easy to tear a rotater cuff. They have it harder than we do.”

I think Isaiah is pretty cool.

**I throw like a girl…that’s why your hand’s burning!**

 

Leave a Reply

