You’re Welcome

So the high school bus shows up today and only 2 of the 3 kids who were supposed to be on it, got down. I received a phone call from an unknown number just as the bus pulled away.

He:  Mom? It’s me.

Me: Yeah? Let me guess. You missed the bus.

He: I did. How’d you know?

Me: You not getting off of it just now with your brother and sister gave me my first clue.

He: Can you come pick me up?

Me: Mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm… (read in Marge Simpson disgruntled tone.)

So, of course, Sam wants to ride back up to the school with me to get him. I know that it is not due to her being concerned for his well-being or even to keep me company. It is a means to an end. She wants fast-food.

We arrive at the first traffic light en route and we are about the 6th car back. It is odd that there is traffic at this hour; even just after school lets out. So we wait. And we wait. And we wait. We wait for 10 or 12 MINUTES. I look in the rear view mirror and notice that there is a line nearly a quarter mile long on this road that is usually not crowded at all. Finally, I turn to my daughter and say, “Hey. If you hop out of the car and run up to the corner and push the pedestrian crosswalk light button, I’ll give you a dollar.” She grabbed the dollar and took off like a bat out of hell.

The lady in the lane next to me gave me the “what gives?” look with her eyebrows. I told her that I sent her up to push the button so we could finally get a green light. She laughed.
Then the light turned green and traffic moved and my daughter had to jog alongside the open car in order to hop back in the front seat.

You’re welcome, fellow commuters.

 

Leave a Reply

