99 is Fine

According to my internet weather app, it will only be a high of 99F today. You KNOW you live in North Texas when you actually get happy over this number. Yeah, I know it’s summer time and I should expect heat when we live in the devil’s armpit. But yesterday it was 96F at 10:30 IN THE MORNING!!!! The high heat of the day doesn’t hit here until about 4:00 pm. To say it was sweltering would be an understatement.

It’s been like that all week. I am usually outdoorsy as hell. But wow. Not this year. I’m just biding my time taking care of all the housework and attempting to map out all my errands at one time, always the last one in the morning stopping at one of those drive up windmill things and buying 10-20 pounds of ice to stick in the water cooler that has become a permanent fixture on the end of my kitchen table.

It could be worse. I know this. We could be in Houston.

Leave a Reply

